top of page
Search
annatankersley8

Week 5

Well... Its been a week.


Classes have been interesting as always. We learned about Coral Reefs in Marine bio. There's wayyyy more animals living there than just corals and fish and crabs and such. My research group is planning a presentation around Cryptomeria. Its very understudied, but the potential is amazing. Jorge's classes were all very frustrating and heavy this week though. We were mostly discussing economic inequality as it relate to 'green living'. Spoiler alert, there's a lot of economic barriers to living well. We gotta do something about that.


But y'all want to hear about the fun stuff, and I want to write about the fun stuff too.


We adopted two new dogs in our pack of strays this week. This brings our pack to 4 dogs. They're both types of German Shepards and they're so sweet. We met one after going out one night. He followed Meleah and Jenna home and barked at strangers if they got near to them. The other is a little pup who seems to just want to play with everyone. I bought some treats on Friday so I can give them some food.


The weekend rolled around and we had a big trip planned for Manuel Antonio. Then... disaster struck. I got pickpocketed on the bus. Whoever it was stole my phone. Which sucks. I can't call/ snap/ text anyone right now and its quite frustrating. But the trip otherwise was pretty great.


I stayed with a different group of friends Friday afternoon. We mostly hung out around their hostel at the pool. I taught them to play the card game ERS. I whooped their butts at it haha. There was a really treacherous hike to a "waterfall" behind the hostel. The trail was steep, slick, and overall a bad idea. And it didn't even lead to a waterfall! I'd call that a trickle if anything.


I stayed in an Airbnb with my close group of friends. We got to be lazy on a beautiful beach for the weekend. The surf was calm in the morning, but the waves were big and fun in the afternoon. All of us tried to body surf, we mostly just tumbled around as the waves hit us. We had some banging food at a local cabana that afternoon. The fish was incredibly fresh. After, we all got to take post-beach naps at the airbnb. And nothing will be more relaxing.


Saturday night we went to a smaller beach to watch the sunset. I've never seen the sun set over the ocean. It was incredible. The ocean was at the full high tide, so the waves were crashing right up against the tree line. We went to the beach in our dinner clothes, but the ocean looked so fun that Caleb and I ran right in fully clothed. It was so much fun. The Ticos around us gave us weird looks though. But I figured. Clothes will dry. But the memories will last a long Time.


THe sunset was gorgeous. The sky lit up in a brilliant orange and yellow. There wasn't a cloud in the sky. I wanted to see if the sun would do the green flash thing. It did not. But it was beautiful nonetheless.


That night Jeff and I cooked for everyone. We made tacos with spicy mango salsa. That was the definition of ballin' on a budget.


The journey back was tough. But I got to eat a Churchill for dinner Sunday night (it's a form of ice cream). And honestly. As much as this week was a mixed bag. I'm still chugging along.


Sorry about not having pictures this time around. But ya know. I got robbed


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page