top of page
Search
annatankersley8

Week 4

I'm late posting I know, but in all honesty I was tired. And there's not much to report haha.


Classes are still rockin' and rollin'. Tropical Marine biology was pretty cool. We talked about ecological process and interactions. Fun Fact: there's three communities of ecosystems in the ocean Plankton, Nekton, and Benthos. And that relates to if the organisms are free floating, mobile, or have contact with the ocean floor. Jorge's classes (bio diversity, tropical conservation, and ecology and population) were chaotic as per usual. But, bio diversity taught me and we all come from sea anemones. Today was also bio diversity. Flat worms are ruining Scotland's ecosystems. (look it up. it's bad)


Thursday night after soccer, we all went out for dinner. We met some cool people that spoke English! One girl was from North Carolina even. She's taking a gap year. There were two other girls as well. One from Sweden and one from Germany. We might hangout again, but I'm not sure.


But anyways. As always the fun stuff came during the weekend. Friday I went to the Jade Museum in San José with Grace! And my goodness, it was so interesting. Jade is super hard mineral, but ancient olmecs and Maya and others were incredible at creating intricate and delicate designs in Jade. Shamans were a big part of the culture surrounding Jade, and their rituals and such were really complex. Overall, very informative and cool. One of the biggest take aways was that religion was SUPER impactful on the styles of pottery and artwork. Afterwards we went to a hipster barrio in San José. I had an absolutely bangin' vegetable sandwich. I realized afterwards that the sandwich had mushrooms on it, and that was the first and only time I've eaten mushrooms since being here. We also got some ice cream from a dude in a hole-in-the-way type of shop. I couldn't tell you what flavor I had, but it was bright orange with little wafers in it.


Saturday I didn't do much, just chilled around San Ramón. We did go for a sunset walk, which was super calm and beautiful. Seeing the twinkling lights of the city down the hill just reminded me how picturesque Costa Rica is no matter where I am.


Sunday was a chill adventure day. We went back to Las Musas, but this time we hiked around the trails behind the pool/ waterfall. One trail led us to the top of the falls. It was humbling to feel how close we were to the edge of a sheer cliff. The hike was difficult tho for real. We were essentially rock climbing at points. There was a super sketch bridge right before the summit of the waterfall, and one of the planks broke under Edwin. Honestly though, 8/10 for a hike. The pool felt SO good after it. The water was freezing like last time, but with how hot it was it was perfection.


Sunday night was Super Bowl Sunday. Erin and I hung out with some local Ticos for the game. They took us around to different restaurants and showed us the more local areas of San Ramón. It wasn't hard because the city isn't super big, nor is it very touristy. But, I'm happy I've made some friends with Locals. I practiced my Spanish A LOT. They're gonna take us to some hidden waterfalls in the future.


So yeah. Easy week and chill weekend. This coming week will have more to report, I'm sure.






13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page